top of page

The importance of lifelong learning


With my blog theme being 'Learner 4 Life', I decided to research why I felt this topic was important to me personally. I have always had a hunger for learning, right from a young age. I started attending success seminars from my late teens, with one of my favorite sessions being hosted by Robin Sharma, author of "Leadership Wisdom: From the Monk Who Sold his Ferrari". If I am found watching television (on the very rare occasion), it is typically a show such as Tony Robbins: I am not your guru, or perhaps I may be seen watching TED Talks, which, along with my training in Toastmasters International, I am striving to improve my presentation skills.

Needless to say, I have an insatiable hunger for success. One famous author named Brian Tracy, of Brian Tracy International shares that "Information and knowledge on everything is increasing every day. This means that your knowledge must also increase to keep up."

Tracy goes on to say "Your ability to expand your mind and strive for lifelong learning is critical to your success. By dedicating yourself to learning, you can get ahead in every aspect of your life. All it takes is a commitment.The most successful people read an average of 2-3 hours per day. They belong to organizations that encourage learning the most current information and share ideas. For people dedicated to continuous learning, it means that they attend annual conventions and go to every session available that has new insights that can help them to be more effective in getting the results for which they are responsible."

Brian has broken education down into three areas which can either be acquired deliberately or in a random fashion. These are maintenance learning, growth learning, and shock learning. I am active in the areas of maintenance and growth learning, however I could certainly investigate more on the topic of shock learning.

To learn more about these levels of education, I invite you to read more from one of my favorite success mentors - Brian Tracy. Discover the Importance of Lifelong Learning.

Resource:

http://www.briantracy.com/blog/personal-success/expand-your-mind-importance-of-lifelong-learning-and-continuous-education/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page